Skip to content

Wiberal agenda: More children’s book reviews

July 1, 2012

My agenda almost always contains the Week in Books.

Board books!

The rest of the That’s Not My… board books came in today!  I got Tiger, Baby (boy and girl) , Kitten, Monster, Polar Bear, and LionLion is the only one that bothered me because it sheds a LOT.  Loved the rest.

I have to admit I’ve never read Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs that I remember.  I’ve seen the movie, which is UH-MAY-ZING and you should all watch it, no matter your age, but I don’t remember reading the book.  The book is weird and cool, though.  Definitely a fun one, especially for kids who haven’t seen the movie yet, as there are only some similar elements.  (My husband once asked, “If no animals dies to make the food [in the movie], is it vegan?”  Well, yeah, right?  Start up the machine, Flint!)

Picture books!

Time to Say “Please”! by Mo Willems is super cute, but tech services covered up the game board!  BOOO.  But probably for the best.  The mice are cute and funny, and, of course, PIGEON.  MO.  I wish I remembered we had this when I did my Knuffle Bunny storytime!  It would’ve been a fast second read.  One of my co-workers looked at Knuffle Bunny and said that it looked like South Park, but I see a definite Charlie Brown influence in the girl in the story.  Just sayin’.

There’s always that librarian sense of, Will this make a good storytime book?  I’m not the type to do a lot of voices (I just forget in the middle) so I really like the he said/she said/they said thing.  Makes it easier for me to tell the story.  I Must Have Bobo! by Eileen and Marc Rosenthal is about a kid who has a favorite stuffed monkey, but so does his cat.  So his cat keeps stealing the monkey.  And it’s totally cute, but I’m not sure it will work for storytime.  I’m thinking about it.  Love Marc Rosenthal’s almost-retro art.

Keith Baker’s LMNO Peas is a reorder for a library, but my first time reading it and, oh yes, this WILL be a toddler time story book.  SO CUTE.  For those kids who love Veggie Tales (and their parents who still sing all the songs at the age of 34, I know who I am), these peas will be especially adorable.  Maybe they should all have French accents.

 

…Well, my week was cut short by injury.  So, um, there you go for now!  If I’m not feeling better soon–video post?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

