Skip to content

Backwib Part One Zillion

November 22, 2012

I really want to just say Happy Thanksgiving and go the heck to bed, but I’ve done enough filler posts for the month.

It looks like I’m at the end of May.  I read the last of Mira Grant’s Newsflesh trilogy, Blackout, a book that shocked the hell out of me, entertained the hell out of me, impressed the hell out of me.  Love this series, recommend it to everyone, telling them, “I don’t care if you’re ‘over zombies.’  Read this book.”  It’s political, it’s horror, it’s sci fi, it’s awesome, just read it.

Also read Alice on Board, the 24th Alice book, and I don’t care.  I’m reading to the end (which is soon, actually).  Alice and her friends are working on a cruise ship and it’s fun and Alice-y.

I reread Cynthia Voigt’s The Callender Papers and enjoyed it more now as an adult than I did as a kid.  As a mystery, it’s not perfect, but it’s still very good.

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie is the highly enjoyable story of a woman who signs up for an arranged marriage.  I really liked this one.  I was worried I wouldn’t because I’m actually a big fan of arranged marriage stories and have become kind of picky, but this one hits all the marks.  The narrator is a bit irritating at first, if I remember correctly, and then mellows as the book goes on, as she’s supposed to.  I gave it four stars instead of five, and I want to say that’s because of the ending, but I’m not really sure anymore, which is why I should do these reviews AS I READ THE BOOKS.  Anyway, recommended.

I reread A Little Princess, and boy Sarah Crewe is a different person when you’re older, but I still found it quite charming.  Reread Who Said Life is Fair? by Jean Thesman, thanks to the helpful people on Goodreads who reminded me of the title, and it’s always weird to go back and see what was going on in the books that I missed as a kid.  Now that I’m older I have a much stronger, less positive opinion of one of the love interests.  What a tool.  And while I’m speaking of rereads, I also recently reread Eve Bunting’s Someone is Hiding on Alcatraz Island, which is a fast, exciting, action-movie-for-kids kind of story about a bullied kid.  It was not quite the read I remembered, and probably impressed me less, but I think it would be good for reluctant readers.  Also reread Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden for the book club (Banned Books) and I find something new to love about it every time.  So good.  Also reread Girl Walking Backwards by Bett Williams and didn’t love it as much as I used to–maybe because I lent it to my kid saying “I remember this reminded me of when I was a teenager, minus the drugs” and then reread it and found that the main character is just constantly masturbating.  Which isn’t bad (or an inaccurate view of teenagers, really), but it just comes off as kind of, I dunno, unnecessary, and also embarrassing to the mom who was like “Oh yeah.”  I meant the shyness, the in-betweenness of sexual identity.  But God, the main character’s mother.  Ugh.  California, amirite?

Daniel H. Wilson’s Amped was another movie script waiting to happen from the author of Robopocalypse.  It’s not that I didn’t like it.  It’s just…it reads like he imagined an action/sci-fi movie and wrote it out.  Meg Cabot’s Abandon was a disappointing retelling (sort of) of the Persephone myth.  I guess?  I just remember there’s a boat or something. And some irritating dude.  Actually, there was a whole bunch of disappointing books in a row.  Going Overboard: The Misadventures of a Military Wife‘s author, Sarah Smiley, bugged the crap out of me and made everything sound petty and backed up my decision to stay here while my husband trains in his new Navy career.  The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1920 was read out of order, plus: current-day Alan Moore.  The Griff by Christopher Moore had a good premise and a so-so execution, which I usually expect from him.  A Million Little Pieces by James Frey convinced us to never read another book “for the lulz” in my book club; its awfulness and pretension would have been tolerable if he’d been honest about it being a novel in the first place, but not by much.  I finally broke the streak with Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick; I love that book more every time I read it.  It also makes Blade Runner looks crappy.  I’m just saying.

I read the MirrorMask book by Neil Gaiman and I found it more lacking than the movie (which was beautiful and well-acted, but missing something–some level of depth), and Judd Winnick proved once again that he’d be a great author if he was never allowed to have a female character on the page ever again with Green Arrow/Black Canary: The Wedding Album.

Oh God, it’s getting late (for me anyway) and I have so much to do.

I’m failing NaNo so bad.  I just can’t talk myself into doing it AND two NaBlos AND having a social life to distract me from the now-distracting husband who I can now Skype with nightly.

Yeah, I know, time management.  I’m still knocking out about 500 words at lunch time at work, but the rest of the time…nothing.  Maybe I’ll just keep going in December and see how long it takes me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

