Skip to content

WIB: September 29 – October 5

October 8, 2013

So it turns out I only read two books last week.  Oops.  For some reason, I thought it was more.

Alexander at the World’s End was another book suggested by my husband.  It is by Tom Holt, who wrote the incredibly funny and self-aware Open Sesame, but Alexander is a historical novel told a bit more straight, although always funny.  It is the story of Alexander the Great’s tutor, the grandson of his main character in The Walled Orchard (I think), who is a student of Diogenes and a fun “in” into Greek society, if sort of skewed in a British humor-y way.  I kept thinking, “Hey, that’s too British!” but if it had been written by an American, I probably wouldn’t even notice those turns of phrase that pull you out of the historicism.  My problem is, of course, with the title, that makes you think you’re going to get a lot of Alexander when you really don’t.  He’s a side character, fascinating every time he’s on the page, which isn’t often, which makes me pine for the times when he isn’t even when I was enjoying the story.  So I liked the book but I probably would’ve liked it better with a different title, which is probably how I’ll feel when I read the first one in the series, which I will probably eventually pick up.  Recommended for Vic, of course.

For everyone else, try this on for size: http://www.tom-holt.com/  Answer a few questions and see which one you should start with!  It suggested Odds & Gods for me.  I don’t know if Hubs has that one…

I also read Sarah MacLean’s Every Good Earl Deserves a Lover, the second in her Rules of Scoundrels series.  Speaking of annoying titles, this one is clever but doesn’t fit the book at all.  The book I loved; Sarah MacLean has officially made it onto my romance-authors-I-will-read list, which is pretty damn short.  I remember when I could read any romance without hating on its sexism; I don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing but it really ruins my ability to walk into a library and just pick up romances, read them, and enjoy them.  I feel like MacLean really hit her stride on this one; Pippa is a science-obsessed young lady who is engaged because she’s supposed to be engaged, not because she loves her fiance.  She decides to “experiment” with a local Lothario so that she doesn’t go into her marriage completely clueless (her older sister waxes romantic when she tries to bring it up; her younger sister doesn’t want to admit the things she’s doing with her own fiance; her mother would reach for the smelling salts if she ever brought it up).  Her idea of experimentation is to be able to ask questions; he wants a more hands-on approach.  But he has secrets, lots of them, and between the secrets and the chemistry, this is a rock-solid romance that I would suggest to any romance fan.  I still think MacLean has a habit of having her characters have conversations that are almost meaningless to the reader because the intent is in her own head only, but there are far fewer such conversation going on in this one, so I just ignored them.

So that was a whole week’s worth of reading there, somehow.  Next time, what I am reading this week, which includes a book/game that fails on almost every level.  I’m on “vacation” soon for my birthday (leaving the fam and the kitties for a few days to go home to NJ and celebrate) so maybe I can read a lot more.  Maybe not though.  Last time I was always driving somewhere.  I should get a driver for such things…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Denise K. Charles permalink
    October 24, 2013 11:35 pm

    Which is here at last. And the world is a better place for authors who can write huge books relatively quickly.

Leave a Reply

