Skip to content

Oh God, is the year almost over already?

December 27, 2013

Although I did not hit my expected number this year for books read, that number was based on me reading a lot more kids’ books due to my job, which I was supposed to leave around August and ended up having to leave in April because of my husband’s job and our relocation.  Living with my husband again also cut into my reading time, which you wouldn’t think so because of the whole housewife thing, but it’s totally true.  I am more likely to put a book down when he’s anywhere around me, because he’s awesome, although we do try to read a bit before bed each night.

I did, however, read over twenty new books and seventy-one (hopefully seventy-two by New Year’s) off of my personal shelves.

HOW do I still have eight ten and a half shelves of unread books in my house? (IDK why I guessed instead of counted.)

This is one of the reasons I never feel like I make headway into anything.

I’ve been working on my 101 in 1001 list, taking out things I’ve completed, making notes for other things, and there’s only one book-related thing on it: set and complete yearly book goals.  So, okay, I only got 2/3 of my goals complete this year, but as I said, I was working off of false assumptions and I’m not going to beat myself up over it.

*

Anyway, so new book goals:

-20 new books (published and/or available to me  from November 2013 to December 2013)

-50 off of my to-read shelves

-300 altogether

300, man.  I’m losing my touch.

*

Now I’m searching for new releases on Goodreads.  Definitely going to be reading Cress (Lunar Chronicles), Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone), the next Dresden Files, Hollow City (Miss Peregrine), Burn (Pure), and whatever Rainbow Rowell and John Green publish, and probably a lot of other stuff too I’m blanking on.  Oh, there’s going to be a Veronica Mars book.  You know I’m going to read that faster than Laura Palmer’s Diary and My So-Called Life Goes On.

That’s only eight of twenty.  I could say, “Aw man,” but honestly, I’m excited to see what else comes out.  I’d rather not just make a list now for this one.

I will be pretty much listing out the fifty off the shelves.  I almost didn’t want to put 300 for my goal because I know how many of them will be heavy hitters, books I’ve started in the past and haven’t finished because of time and weight.  I’ve gotta finish Guns, Germs, and Steel and Bleak House.  I feel like they’ll be a month a piece!  And then after that, I’ve got some book club choices that are up there, like Watership Down (nope, never read it) and Two Boys Kissing.  After that, I was thinking about going alphabetically, but…probably not.  I will make a list though.  Well, lots of lists.  It will be fun.  I love lists.

Next up: WIBs and me working on my next big project.  Speaking of excited…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

