Skip to content

WIB: Dec 22-28

February 3, 2014

Two books!  The first was Divided Allegiance by Elizabeth Moon, the second book of The Deed of Paksennarion.  If the first book was all military, this one is mostly D&D.  Paks, annoyed by how political everything is, rather than right or wrong the way SHE sees things, goes off on her own to figure out her path in life.  Which is great, because my head was spinning at the politics in the first few pages.  She meets a half-elf, and then regular elves, and then something I STILL don’t know what it is, and settles in a town for a bit, and then sets off on her path, and then everyone treats her like crap, and then she hits her lowest point, and we end there.  How’s THAT for a vague-ish summary?

I did enjoy the book.  I love Paks and I followed her through it all, even the end of the last book which I don’t even know how I feel about still, but as someone who doesn’t do a lot of swords & sorcery, D&D-y fantasy, I couldn’t even wrap my brain around how good and evil are these THINGS in the second book.  Not concept, actual THINGS that can be given or taken from you.  Not my thing, but it doesn’t make the book any less good, just more confusing.

The second was Greg Rucka’s first Queen & Country novel A Gentleman’s Game.  Q&C is a GREAT comic book series, even for someone like me who isn’t into real life spy-stuff.  Rucka decided to write some novels with the characters and the first one is really good.  It’s about a terrorist attack on London and how the government responds to it.  It’s amazing to see how these things work, how few people make these decisions, how much America is a player in other countries’ decisions.  Highly recommended for people who like spy stories that aren’t about gadgets and playboys but actual, real-life spying.

Both were slow reads because they’re so out of my usual interest range and a bit denser than my usual fare.  (Although the Rucka moves pretty fast at times.)  Next up: 2013 ends and 2014 begins!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2014 7:00 pm

    I really like the Queen and Country novels. The nice part about them is they serve as a capstone to the comic series, which just kind of peters out without resolving anything. But the second book serves as a decent enough ending.

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 4, 2014 10:40 am

      Sorry, Jesse, I don’t know why this thing isn’t auto-approving you every time. The end of the series doesn’t resolve? Why don’t I remember that?

  2. February 5, 2014 3:21 pm

    The comics stop with Operation: Red Panda, which is honestly a little bit of a disappointment as well as being between the two novels. It wasn’t awful or anything, but I prefer when Tara wins the day through outthinking her opponents rather than just by outgunning them. I like Queen and Country because the spies feel like real people rather than unstoppable badasses. Also, I just consulted Wikipedia and there is even a third novel, which I did not know about.

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 5, 2014 4:08 pm

      Either it likes you better as “Jesse” or else it finally recognizes you when you post now. 🙂

      Yeah, I looked it up. I knew there was a second book but I forgot after all this time that it wrapped up “the first volume” of Q&C. I’ll get to it, but I’m not going to rush it.

Leave a Reply

