Skip to content

WIB: Jan 19-25

July 29, 2014

Kristen Simmons’s Breaking Point is the second book in the Article 5 series.  I saw it in the library, thought, “Hey, I read the first one!”, and picked it up.  I could not remember most of what had happened in the first book.  I now no longer remember what happened in the second.  Both books were completely unforgettable, lost in a plethora of similar books.  With no stand-out lead like Katniss, no creep factor like the photos Miss Peregrine, no hilarious title like Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, Article 5 becomes an average book series in a world where the stand-outs are practically running the business.  Will I read the third book?  No.  I just can’t bring myself to care enough.

*

Carrie Vaughn’s After the Golden Age is my kind of book.  It’s a fast read, with superheroes, and an actual novel.  The lead, Celia, is the adult daughter of superheroes, but with no powers of her own.  As a result, she ends up being kidnapped.  A lot.  It’s kind of boring after a while, it turns out.  She works as an accountant, a power of her own that she uses when her parents’ nemesis is on trial.  This is far from being a perfect book–Vaughn really finds her footing in the second book, which I’ll discuss in a different WIB–but it’s entertaining and I really enjoyed it.  Good book for superhero lovers who like their capes in novel form.

*

And then I kept reading Jenny:

The Cinderella Deal

Trust Me on This

Tell Me Lies

Crazy for You (and the second post on that which is less about the book and more about one of my least favorite tropes)

*

For some reason, I thought Vladimir Tod was going to be a darker series.  Heather Brewer’s Eighth Grade Bites is fluffy and cute, even if it does perpetuate the myth that it’s blood in rare meat.  The writing’s simple and at times sloppy, but it’s a cute read for kids, I think.  Late tweens, I guess?  I know the series follows him through high school, but I sure won’t be.

*

Finally, I said We the Living by Ayn Rand, a semi-autobiographical work that explains why she is batshit crazy.  A necessary read for people who don’t “get” her.  Basically, Communism in Russia sucked; no wonder she embraced capitalism like it was the only game in town.  As always, a strong, unshakeable female lead whose high standards exist everywhere but in her vagina—er, choice of sexual partners.  For those who are more interested in learning history through novels than non-fiction, this might be a fascinating glimpse into Communist Russia; for Rand fans, it’s necessary; for everyone else, it would probably be painful.

*

And that was my week in books.  Next up: a memoir by one of my favorite musicians, and Christopher Golden writes some winter horror.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

