Skip to content

WIB: Feb 9-15

September 5, 2014

[Look, I’m spoiling Bridge to Terabithia, okay?  You kind of have to, to talk about it.]

I read Bridge to Terabithia for the first time in February.  I don’t remember it being in my childhood library.  I had Jacob Have I Loved, and read it until it fell apart for all that it was “weird,” but that’s where my Katherine Paterson knowledge began and ended.  However, I will always remember the time my dad took my daughter to the movies to see the adaptation and my daughter came home distraught.  “A kid DIES.  Kids shouldn’t DIE in movies!  Movies are supposed to make you happy!”

Bridge to Terabithia was written by a mother whose son was grieving over the loss of his friend, and it was hard to get through towards the end there.  I had believed, until the movie was about to come out, that it was very Narnia-like (not one of my favorite series growing up), and that’s not what it is at all.  Jess just wants to be the fastest runner in his grade.  Leslie is unhappy she’s moved to the small town.  The two of them bond, and become dear friends.  Then tragedy strikes, and Jess has to deal with the loss of Leslie.  It’s a great book, and I recommend it strongly.  Not every book can be escapism.  Sometimes bad things happen.

*

To balance the sadness of Terabithia, I read the third book in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, Cress.  The cast grows as Cinder, the cyborg Cinderella, and Scarlet, the delivery girl in the red hoodie, are joined by a Rapunzel trapped not in a tower, but a satellite.  This series has only gained strength as its gone on, and Cress delivers the–oops, mixing character metaphors.  But–goods.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to love or hate a series that began with the premise “cyborg Cinderella,” but after Scarlet, I was firmly in the love camp, and haven’t left since.  This is a great YA series that manages to balance sci fi and magic without annoying me–me!  The person who hates sci fi mixed with magic.  Also: that cover.  My god, that beautiful cover.

Next up: Why I only read two books the whole week this week.  (Spoiler: I didn’t.  It’s just that the third one took forever because it sucked.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

