Skip to content

I did it! I finished Jericho and didn’t throw up!

October 30, 2014

[Spoilers? Nah.]

For much longer than it usually takes me to watch two seasons of television, I have been watching Jericho, which ran from 2006-2008.  I did not catch it at the time for various reasons, most of which had to do with me restarting college and probably being disconnected enough from television to have only barely heard of it.  I maybe knew it was post-apocalyptic, and that it had The Poor Man’s Johnny Depp and Major Dad, but that was pretty much it.  But people I like who like the things I like recommended it, so when I saw it on Netflix I thought I would give it a try.  What happened was that I binge-watched it, and then slowly tapered off to about one episode every few months, because it was so intense I couldn’t handle it.

It’s funny, because a lot of the time–especially in the first season–it has that schmaltzy family feel, and then the rest of the time I was in stomach-knotting pain from the tension of it.  The show revolves around a nuclear attack on the US that leaves the town of Jericho alive and radiation-free, but in essence cut off from the rest of the world.  Jake is the black sheep of his family, and he’s reluctantly come home during the attacks, and he’s got to navigate years-long family issues with the very difficult reality of survival.  Other shows have done survival, I guess, but not on this day-to-day scale.  The show itself, however, seemed to be plagued by the reality of having a huge cast.  You just couldn’t be everywhere with everyone and the show lacked for it. And I don’t mean plot-wise; I mean actor-wise.  (They also tripped up with April, but that probably had more to do with the actress than the story as well.)

Lennie James knocks it out of the park as Robert Hawkins, a newcomer to the town who has information that makes him very suspicious to the audience.  Is he a good guy?  A bad guy?  Loved every second of him on the show.

But man, is it tense.  It made me want to hoard cans of food.  I think I would go to the grocery store an extra time a week just because of Jericho.  I am so glad I’m done it.  I spent the last two episodes looking most everywhere but the television screen.  Couldn’t do it.

And of course now I want the comic books, and no one in the state will lend them, because this state is weird about lending.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2014 9:56 pm

    I’m glad that you enjoyed Jericho. The Jericho graphic novels (comics in bound form) is available in digital form from Comixology (at half price):
    https://www.comixology.com/Jericho-Season-3-Civil-War-IDW/comics-series/10153?ref=c2VhcmNoL2luZGV4L2Rlc2t0b3Avc2xpZGVy

    https://www.comixology.com/Jericho-Season-4/digital-comic/92009?ref=c2VhcmNoL2luZGV4L2Rlc2t0b3Avc2xpZGVy

    There is still talk of a Jericho continuation, most likely in movie form.

    • bookslide permalink*
      November 2, 2014 9:01 pm

      I don’t buy comics, for the most part. I may ask for them for Christmas, though.

      Thanks for the info!

      • November 2, 2014 9:13 pm

        If you want to ask for the print version, then Amazon has the best price. A Season 5 comic/novel is being worked on.

Leave a Reply

