Skip to content

I still don’t know if I’m committing to NaBlo

November 2, 2015

Buuuut I can post today anyway.

I’ve read so many books this year and haven’t written about them. But I still have some of last year’s stuff that I didn’t write about either. So… that’s a good way to do NaBlo, IF I DO IT.

2014 Catch-up

But I think I’ve blogged about this book before! Redshirts by John Scalzi is a weird little book. It’s a parody of Star Trek where the characters are aware they’re walking plot points. Even weirder is that the story finishes quickly and then there are three more sections, each in a different person-perspective (first, second, and third) and they all tie in. I really enjoyed each part, but some find it too odd. Those people don’t enjoy life.

Judith Krantz’s Scruples is the one book I was not allowed to read as a kid. Murderous evil twin and sexcapades through the generations in Sidney Sheldon’s Master of the Game? Sure. What the heck, I was about eight when I read that one. But Scruples was hidden in my mom’s drawer.

Of course I read it.

It’s the story of a woman who has everything good happen to her ever. And glory holes. But when I reread Scruples as an adult, I was shocked by how little the main character actually did. She wasn’t triumphantly succeeding–success kind of happened to her because she lost weight and got hot. What a lesson.

But that’s not the book I read in 2014. What I read was Scruples 2, a pile of crap even worse than the original book, so bad that I gave it the dreaded 1-star review on Goodreads. The book is set 15 years later, and is awful, and that’s mostly what I remember about it. Also that the main character’s creepy husband continued to be creepy, so I guess they break up and she ends up with the dude who ended up with the French chick at the end of the first one? Not sure why that happened, but it sucked, and the whole book sucked.

I also read some early Margaret Atwood: The Edible Woman and Lady Oracle. Both were good reads but didn’t have the impact her later stuff did. The time in which she grew up was so oppressive for women, it’s easy to see why even know it’s hard to find a sympathetic male character in her works–although, really, you could argue that it’s tough to find any sympathetic character in any of her works.

Brian K. Vaughan’s The Escapists is the story of the people who try to bring back the comic that is part of the focus in Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, which is an awesome book and this comic doesn’t quite reach that awesomeness, but it’s a fun read with interesting characters. It wasn’t what I expected, but that’s okay too.

*

The problem with reading a lot of books and being a busy and sleep-deprived person is that very little sticks a year later, which is why I always want to try to blog more, but then I’m like “I’M SO TIRED I literally can’t even get out of this bed even though I should go eat/pee/do my back stretches/et cetera.”

So, tomorrow, there will be a lot of books I barely remember because they were just meh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

