Skip to content

Some three-star books of 2014

November 4, 2015

Three stars on Goodreads for me is still a good review. These are the books I would likely reread on a cold day had I any time for rereading nowadays that doesn’t involve book clubs or my utter, absolute favorite books or nostalgia track-downs. They are usually fast, breezy books, but occasionally they are heavier reads that don’t quite hit the mark emotionally. They are, basically, serviceable.

Jennifer E. Smith is the kind of writer where I couldn’t tell you which of her books is about which characters or plot a year after the fact, but which pass the time well and I enjoy while I’m reading them. I even look forward to her next release. So I can’t tell you what The Geography of You and Me is about, but I can tell you I liked it! Isn’t that silly? She’s one of my go-to recs for teens who like realistic romance.

Lauren Oliver is never a five-star writer for me either. It always takes me too long to warm up to her books, which I then tend to give three or four stars to. It’s three stars for Panic, which I felt was one of her weaker works. Still worth reading but not if you’re looking for the depth of Before I Fall. It’s a book about teens who have a yearly dangerous game they play. I dunno, three stars: forgettable.

L.M. Montgomery’s The Blue Castle is a book about a young woman who has been oppressed her own life and decides “No more” when she’s given a diagnosis of a terminal illness. I don’t know why I didn’t love it, but I wonder if I reread it I would? It’s a book I’ll revisit in a few years, I think, it figure it all out.

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout gets a lot of props for how great it is, and there are definitely great things about it, but it’s got a bit of pretension in it, capital-L Literary that I don’t love. There were times I ate the pages up, and times I wanted to put it down and not pick it back up. I’ve gotta watch the miniseries, for sure.

Sarah Waters’s Fingersmith isn’t half as good as Tipping the Velvet, but it’s still a good read about a female thief. Lots of tropes used quite well. It’s probably better if you’re familiar with that era’s source material. In short: Lesbian Dickens. How can you not want to read it?

Victoria Holt’s On the Night of the Seventh Moon has a lot of that Victorian thriller feel to it as well. I don’t love Holt upon reread the way I did when I was a kid.

More three-star books tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

